Guide de la citÉ de Sienne - HOME | CONTACT | SITEMAP 

Hotel ico
Destination
Arrivée
Départ
Meilleur prix garanti!

Val d'orcia


Le Val d'Orcia, ToscaneVal d’Orcia, appelé aussi Valdorcia, se situe au sud des Crete Senesi et s'étend des collines au sud de Sienne jusqu'au Monte Amiata. On peut y admirer des champs de céréales, des collines cultivées avec soins, des ruisseaux, des bourgs et plusieurs villages médiévaux comme Pienza, qui fut complètement reconstruite à la moitié du XV° siècle. Montalcino, un village sur la colline célèbre pour son vins rouge Brunello et Radicofani.
Ces communes, comme Castiglione d'Orcia et San Quirico d'Orcia constituent le "Parco artistico, naturale e culturale della Val d'Orcia" (Parc artistique, naturel et culturel du Val d'Orcia).

Cette région est devenue célèbre pour la beauté absolue de ses paysages. Preuve en est les nombreux films qui ont été tournés ici. Pour en citer quelques-uns: Le patient anglais, le Gladiateur, Sous le soleil de Toscane, Roméo et Juliette. Tous des films avec un superbe décor Toscan du Val d'Orcia. En 2004 le Val d'Orcia fut aussi ajouté à la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

Il y a plusieurs parcours à faire à vélo ou à pieds, pour admirer ce paysage magnifique, mais aussi pour voir les nombreuses églises de la région, comme la Chiesa di Sant'Anna ou la Chiesa di Sant'Antimo.



Nous vous conseillons de visiter:

Pienza

Pienza, ToscanePienza est un village de la Renaissance, célèbre pour son organisation urbaine.
Les travaux qui changèrent complètement Pienza au XV° siècle furent ordonnés par le plus célèbre habitant du village: Enea Silvio Piccolomini, élu Pape Pie II en 1458. Il voulait établir sa résidence papale dans le vieux Castello di Corsignano, en transformant tout le village en style "Renaissance", inspiré par un modèle de "ville idéale" et par une utopie de vie et de gouvernement, où les gens pouvaient vivre en paix, avec un équilibre parfait entre l'homme et la nature.
La rénovation fut réalisée sous la supervision de Bernardo Rossellino et de Leon Battista Alberti.

À visiter à Pienza: Palazzo Piccolomini, le Duomo (Cattedrale dell'Assunta) qui abrite plusieurs tableaux artistiques de la Renaissance siennoise, Palazzo Borgia, Palazzo Comunale.

Comme rejoindre Pienza: de Sienne: prendre la direction Monteroni-Buonconvento. Après Buonconvento, allez vers San Quirico d' Orcia et à San Quirico suivez les indications pour Pienza.

Visiter Palazzo Piccolomini, PienzaPalazzo Piccolomini


Réservez maintenant votre visite au palais en ligne de façon simple et 100% sure!

Si vous réservez maintenant, vous pourrez bénéficier d'un service d'audioguide pour la visite complète (disponible en Italien, Anglais, Français, Allemand et Espagnol).

Remises


Visita al Palazzo Piccolomini Tarif réduite:
  • Groupes (15-25 personnes)
  • Étudiants italiens
Tarif gratuite:
  • Enfants jusqu'à 5 ans
  • Personnes à mobilité réduite

Réservez maintenant votre visite!


Monticchiello - le village du théâtre pauvre

Monticchiello - le village du théâtre pauvre

Crédit photo

Monticchiello

Monticchiello est un petit village au cœur du Val d'Orcia, près de Pienza.
Son centre médiéval préserve les traces des fortifications, qui représentent de vrais symboles de sa période florissante, sous la République de Sienne: les remparts, les tours, l'entrée principale du village, la forteresse, la Chiesa di San Leonardo et Cristoforo du XII° siècle avec des fresques du XIV° et du XV° siècle.
Le centre perdit son importance stratégique après la chute de la République de Sienne et l'annexion à la République de Florence.

Aujourd'hui Monticchiello est célèbre pour son "Teatro povero" (Théâtre pauvre), un festival de théâtre de rue organisé et développé entièrement par la population locale. Ils écrivent les histoires basées sur la vie du village et sur l'histoire de Monticchiello, ils s'occupent également de la création des scènes et de la composition de la musique. Et ce sont les habitants mêmes qui y sont acteurs.
Les spectacles se déroulent de la mi-juillet à la mi-août, tous les soirs sauf le lundi.

Pour plus d'informations: http://www.teatropovero.it/


Montalcino

Montalcino, ToscaneMontalcino est connu dans le monde entier, spécialement grâce à son vin, le célèbre "Brunello di Montalcino".
Le village prend son nom des nombreux chênes répandus dans toute la région et représentés aussi sur son blason communal (Montalcino = montagne de chênes). Il se situe entre les Crete Senesi et le Val d'Orcia, près de Pienza et du Monte Amiata.

Lisez plus d'informations sur Montalcino.


San Quirico d'Orcia, Toscane

San Quirico d'Orcia

C'est un ancien village aux origines étrusques, situé dans le nord du Val d'Orcia. Il fut sous le contrôle de Sienne depuis 1256 et a maintenu ses origines médiévales.
Dans le village vous pourrez admirer les superbes bâtiments de la Renaissance, les remparts médiévaux, la Collegiata dei Santi Quirico e Giulietta et les magnifiques jardins du Parco degli Orti Leonini (Horti Leonini).


Une visite suggestive dans le Val d'Orcia: TRENO NATURA - le chemin de fer touristique du Val d'Orcia

De son site officiel:

Treno natura dans le Valdorcia"À deux kilomètres de la gare d'Asciano, le chemin de fer plonge dans de grandes vallées avec des vieux viaducs et de tunnels. Sur la droite, un point de vue magnifique grâce aux splendides rigoles autour de l'Abbazia de Monte Oliveto Maggiore.

À l'arrêt de Trequanda le train entre dans la Valle dell'Asso. Il traverse des collines douces aux couleurs caractéristiques des Crete Senesi et rejoint le village de San Giovanni d'Asso dominé par le château médiéval.

Le chemin de fer, traversant ce paysage extraordinaire, rejoint maintenant la gare monumental de Torrenieri-Montalcino qui fut construite en 1865; au-delà de laquelle on pénètre "à travers champs" en s'approchant de plus en plus du torrent Asso.

À droite on aperçoit de loin la silhouette de Montalcino, précédée par la grande étendue de collines vertes couvertes de vignobles pour la production du très estimé vin Brunello. Dans les champs, les troupeaux paîssent tranquillement, sans être dérangés par le bruit du train. Parfois on peut voir à coté du chemin de fer des animaux de la faune sauvage, tels que des faisans, des lièvres, des renards, des sangliers et des daims.

Après la Galleria di Casalta, la ligne rentre dans le Val d'Orcia et rejoint le petit village de Monte Amiata Scalo.

Visiter le Valdorcia avec le Treno NaturaPuis, il s'approche du lit pierreux du fleuve et se fond presque avec lui. Vous pourrez admirer à votre droite le village de Castelnuovo dell'Abate construit à coté de l'ancienne Abbazia di Sant'Antimo, tandis qu'à votre gauche domine la montagne et vous pourrez apercevoir l'enlacement des villages sur ses coteaux.

Où la vallée s'élargit, le chemin de fer passe à travers des vignobles et des vergers de Villa Banfi et arrive à la gare de Sant'Angelo-Cinigiano. Le petit village de Sant'Angelo Scalo s'est développé autour de cette gare.

 

Treno Natura près de Lucignano d'Arbia (photo de Benedetto Sabatini)

 

Le train continue son parcours dans le Val d'Orcia vers la région Maremma. Il passe sous le Castello di Poggio le Mura, siège du musée du verre, traverse le fleuve Ombrone et arrive à la gare de Monte Antico.

Dans presque 300 mètres, le cours du fleuve Orcia se terminera. Il trouve son origine loin de là, entre la Rocca di Radicofani et le Monte Cetona. Ses eaux pures vont rejoindre celles du fleuve Ombrone pour s'écouler ensemble lentement jusqu'à la mer.

Notre ligne converge avec celle en provenance de Sienne à travers Buonconvento et rejoint ensuite le chemin de fer Tirrenica sous le bourg médiéval de Montepescali".

Texte italien de Stefano Maggi


This Page Is Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional! This document validates as CSS!
© Copyright: About Siena – votre guide touristique sur Sienne
Webdesign and SEO by Web Marketing Team – P.I 05622420486

Travel Guide to Siena, Italy - HOME | CONTACT | SITEMAP 

Hotel ico
Destination
Arrival
Departure
Best price Guaranteed!

VAL D'Orcia


Val d'Orcia in TuscanyVal d’Orcia, also written as Valdorcia, is located south of Crete and extends from the hills south of Siena to Monte Amiata. It comprises grain fields, carefully-cultivated hills, streams and several medieval towns and villages such as Pienza, which was completely rebuilt in the mid 15th century, Montalcino, a hill town well-known for its red Brunello wine and Radicofani.
These municipalities, more Castiglione d'Orcia and San Quirico d'Orcia constitute the "Parco artistico, naturale e culturale della Val d'Orcia" (artistic, natural and cultural Park of the Val d'Orcia).

This area has become famous for the absolute beauty of its landscapes. This could be seen in the many movies that have been filmed here. Just to name a few: The English patient, the Gladiator, Under The Tuscan Sun and Romeo and Juliet are all movies that made use of the beautiful Tuscan scenery in Val d'Orcia. In 2004 Val d'Orcia was even added to the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites.

There are several bike or walk routes to be followed, to admire the beautiful landscape, but also to see the several churches of the area such as the Church of St Anna or the Church of St Antimo.



We suggest to visit:

Pienza

Pienza, TuscanyPienza is a Renaissance town, famous for its design.
The works which completely transfigurated Pienza in 15th century were wanted by the most famous Pienza inhabitant: Enea Silvio Piccolomini, elevated to Pope Pius II in 1458. He wanted the ancient Castello di Corsignano as a Papal residence, changing it and Pienza in Renaissance style, inspired to a model of "ideal city" and to an utopia of ideal living and governing, where people could live in peace, in a balance of man and nature.
The renovation was made under the supervision of Bernardo Rossellino and Leon Battista Alberti.

To visit in Pienza: Palazzo Piccolomini, the Duomo (Cattedrale dell'Assunta) which houses several Sienese Renaissance artists paintings, Palazzo Borgia, Palazzo Comunale.

How to reach Pienza: from Siena take direction Monteroni - Buonconvento. After Buonconvento, take direction San Quirico d' Orcia and in San Quirico follow for Pienza.

Visit the Piccolomini PalacePiccolomini Palace


Book now your visit to the Piccolomini Palace in a few clicks, in an easy and 100% safe way!

By purchasing your ticket for the visit to the Palace you will also get an audio-guide which will illustrate the whole tour (available in Italian, English, French, German and Spanish).

Reductions


Visit the Piccolomini Palace Reduced Tickets:
  • Groups (15-25 persons)
  • Italian Students
Free Entrance:
  • Children under 5 years old
  • Disabled persons

Book your visit now



Monticchiello - the town of Poor Theatre

The Sword in the Stone - San Galgano

Photo credit

Monticchiello

Monticchiello is a small town in the heart of Val d'Orcia, near Pienza.
The medieval center is still visible in many remains of fortifications, that represent real symbols of its most flourishing period, under the Republic of Siena: the walls and towers, the main entrance to the city, the fortress, the twelfth-century Church of St. Leonard and Christopher with frescoes belonging to the fourteenth and fifteenth century.
The center lost its strategic importance after the fall of the Sienese Republic and the annexation to the Republic of Florence.

Today Monticchiello is famous for its "Poor Theatre" (Teatro Povero), a manifestation of street theater designed and developed entirely by locals, who deal with the writing of stories based on the life of the village and the history of Monticchiello, the creation of sets and composition of music. Such plays are then performed by the inhabitants themselves.
The shows take place from mid July to mid August, every evening except on Monday.

For more information: http://www.teatropovero.it/


Montalcino

Montalcino in TuscanyMontalcino is known all around the world, especially thanks to its wine, the famous "Brunello di Montalcino".
The town, which takes its name from the many oaks (Montalcino = mountain of oaks) widespread in the area and represented in the coat of arms, is located between the Crete Senesi and the Val d'Orcia, close to Pienza and Monte Amiata.

Read more about Montalcino.


San Quirico d'Orcia in Tuscany

San Quirico d'Orcia

The ancient village situated in the north of Val d'Orcia has Etruscan origins. Possession of Siena since 1256 has kept intact its medieval origins.
There you can admire beautiful Renaissance buildings, medieval walls, the Collegiate Church of Saints Quirico and Julietta, the beautiful Park Leonini gardens (Horti Leonini).


A suggestion to visit Val d'Orcia: TRENO NATURA - the Val d'Orcia tourist rail

from the official website:

Treno natura in Valdorcia"The railway departs from Asciano station and covers two kms before it runs througn big valleys with bold viaducts and galleries. On the right a striking view of the outstanding gullies around the Monte Oliveto Maggiore Abbey opens to your eyes.

By Trequanda station the line enters the Asso valley. The train runs through sweet hills whose colours recalls the Siena clay and reaches the town San Giovanni d'Asso overlooked by the Middle Age Castle.

Still plunged in this amazing landscaspe, the line now approaches the monumental Torrenieri-Montalcino station which was built in 1865; beyond it the stretch goes through cultivated fields and comes closer to the Asso stream.

The shape of Montalcino stands out in the distance on the right side of the railway and on its feet green valleys stretch covered by wineyards which give birth to the esteemed wine Brunello. The herds aren't bothered by the train running and browse peacefully in the meadows. Sometimes some wildlife specimen even show up on the sides of the line such us pheasants, hares, foxes, wild pigs and fallow deer.

After passing the Casalta gallery, the line enters the valley Val d'Orcia and arrives in the little town Monte Amiata Scalo.

Visit Valdorcia with Treno NaturaIt then approches the stony bed of the river and they almost overlap. For a short track you can discern on the right the village Castelnuovo dell'Abate which arose near the old Abbey of Sant'Antimo, while on the left the mountain dominates and you can perceive the soft contours of the villages lying on its slopes.

The valley widens out. Here the railway runs through the wineyards and orchards of Villa Banfi and then arrives in Sant'Angelo-Cinigiano station. The small town Sant'Angelo Scalo has arisen around this station.

Treno Natura near Lucignano d'Arbia (picture by Benedetto Sabatini) The train keeps on running along the Orcia valley heading for the Maremma region, it passes under the Poggio le Mura Castle where the glas museum has its seat, crosses the Ombrone river and approches Monte Antico station.

300 meters ahead the Orcia river ends its run which started many kilometers before between Radicofani Rock and the Cetona Mountain. Its clear waters join those of the Ombrone river and flow together slowly to the sea.

Our line meets the one coming from Siena through Buonconvento and it then joins the Tirrenica Railway under the Middle Age village Montepescali".

Italian text by Stefano Maggi


This Page Is Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional! This document validates as CSS!
© Copyright: About Siena – your tourist guide to Siena
Webdesign and SEO by Web Marketing Team – P.I 05622420486